Second Annual New American Voices Award 

Fall for the Book and the Institute for Immigration Research created the New American Voices Award to recognize a recently published book that illuminates the complexity of human experience as told by immigrants, whose work is historically underrepresented in writing and publishing.

This year's finalists are Melissa Rivero, Eugenia Kim, and Angie Kim. Judges and all three finalists will appear at the 2019 Fall for the Book festival, October 10-12, 2019 for the second annual presentation and to read from and discuss their work. The winning writer will receive $5,000 and the two finalists each will receive $1,000.  

This year's judges are best selling author, Reyna Grande; journalist and former civil rights lawyer, Alia Malek; and author of This House is Not for Sale, E.C. Osondu. 

Please join us in celebrating immigrant authors!


  • Occurred Thursday, October 10th, 2019 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm


Center for the Arts, George Mason University

4373 Mason Pond Drive, Grand Tier III
Fairfax, VA 22030


Michele Waslin

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.