Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Planning Commission’s new Dranesville rep gets certified

McLean resident John Ulfelder received a certificate last week from the 81st Virginia Certified Planning Commissioner’s Program, administered by Virginia Tech’s Land Use Education Program.

The 10-week course is designed to prepare Ulfelder for his new duties as the Dranesville representative to the Planning Commission. The Fairfax County Board of Supervisors appointed Ulfelder to the commission in January.

Ulfelder served on the board of the Great Falls Citizens Association from 1991 to 2003 – as president from 1997 to 2000 – and as chair of the Land Use and Zoning Committee from 2001 to 2005. He was on the last four Dranesville District Area Plan Review task forces, and chaired the two most recent reviews. He was chairman of the Hunter Mill Road Area Special Study in 2005 and 2006, and served on the Dranesville District Budget Review task forces for fiscal years 2012, 2013 and 2014.

Ulfelder retired in 2010 from West*Group, a Tysons Corner-based real estate development and management firm, where he was a senior vice president and partner. Before joining West*Group in 1989, he worked for 13 years at the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency, as an attorney in the Office of Enforcement, the Office of General Counsel, and as a special assistant to the administrator of EPA and executive assistant to the deputy administrator.

He is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Virginia chapter of The Nature Conservancy and the chapter’s representative on the conservancy’s Trustee Council as well as co-chair of the conservancy’s Global Ambassador program. He also is a member of the Board of Trustees of WETA, the local public television and radio station, and chairs WETA’s Finance and Budget Committee.

He has served on the boards of the Audubon Naturalist Society of the Mid-Atlantic, McLean Project for the Arts, the McLean Orchestra, the INOVA Health System Foundation, the Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority Foundation and Great Falls Heritage Inc.

Hospital staff honor aspiring health care workers

Reston Hospital Center awarded 17 scholarships to Northern Virginia high school seniors in a June 5 ceremony, to recognize their excellence in education and their passion for pursuing a career in health care. Eleven of those students graduated from Fairfax high schools:

• Hana Burkly, Oakton High School

• Megumi Chen, McLean High School

• Melissa Cisneros and Elizabeth Kim, Herndon High School

• Jason Cui, Langley High School

• Stephanie Huard and Arnim Jain, South Lakes High School

• Nawah Karimi, James Madison High School

• Amanda Nelson, Westfield High School

• Ashley Nguyen, Chantilly High School

• Elizabeth Richards, Centreville High School.

Each year the Medical Staff of Reston Hospital Center offers scholarships to students from local high schools; this year’s gifts totaled $16,000. Over the years, Reston Hospital Center has awarded more than $250,000 in academic scholarships to students in Northern Virginia.

Officers wives club names scholarship recipients

AOWCGWA – the Army Officers Wives Club of the Greater Washington Area – awarded 57 scholarships totaling $94,000 to 39 area high school seniors, 15 college students and three Army spouses.

Certificates were awarded to the recipients at a June 1 ceremony and reception at the Fort Myer Community Center.

The 2014 AOWCGWA/Fort Myer Thrift Shop Scholarship recipients are Krizia Acosta, Alexandra Agar, Christine Amador, Justin Artis, Joshua Berg, Gabrielle Bullard, Zach Butler, Elizabeth Chong, Kenton Clingman, Paige Coatney, Jacob Daugherty, Katherine Daugherty, Morgan Dean, Shelby Dodd, Kathleen Fabian, Sara Febbo, Megan Fleming, Isabel George, Alexandra Georgi, Megan Gleason, Sarah Gleason, Sameika Graham, Ross Guieb, Joshua Harlan, Hershel Holiday Jr., Madelyn Ingram, Danielle Jackson, Justin Jones, James Leyden, Paige Long, Nicole Macasa, James Martin, Mariah McKenrick, Ashley Mennes, Anastasia Mihnovets, Daniel Napier, Logan O’Neill, Breanna Oquendo, Elizabeth Owens, Matthew Pastino, Courtney Peterson, Monica Quintiliani, Ashley Redinger, Madison Remillard, Meagan Riley, Alexandra Root, Ramona Rubalcava, Sydney Salter, Rachel Sims, Hannah Staton, Kristin Stiller, Trinity Story, Sherri Taylor, Britney Tingstrom, Emily Verbiest, Grace Wheaton and Kayla Zellmer.

Most of the funds were raised through the Fort Myer Thrift Shop. Kaye Whitley, a previous scholarship winner, donated $2,000 for a scholarship for an Army spouse.

University women’s group chooses six for awards

The McLean Area Branch of the American Association of University Women partnered with counselors at Langley, Marshall and McLean high schools to award Science and Math Achievement Awards to six female students finishing their junior year. Each award, funded through the branch’s annual book sale, consists of a certificate and a check for $100 for the honoree.

The recipients are Langley’s Rachel Wu (math) and Maddie Shaw (science), Marshall’s Leila Noble (math) and Ruhi “Buffy” Parvatam (science), and McLean’s Eliza Price (math) and Hye In “Lauren” Yeom (science).

The criteria for the awards include a record of overall academic success, as well as a distinguished record of achievement in either math or science. Career center counselors at the schools managed the selection process.

Peg Stotz, incoming co-president of the AAUW McLean Area Branch, and Judy Page, STEM coordinator for the branch, presented the awards. The branch instituted the awards to encourage young women to pursue educational opportunities related to STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math).

Scholarships go to students with vision loss

Lighthouse Guild, a New York-based not-for-profit vision and healthcare organization, announced June 9 that it has awarded scholarships with accompanying grants of $10,000 each to 23 college-bound high school seniors and undergraduate college students across the country who are blind or visually impaired.

Two of the recipients are from Fairfax County: Joy Hu, a student at James Madison High School; and Luc Sasserville, a student at W.T. Woodson High School.

The young scholars were chosen for their high academic achievement and community involvement, among other criteria. Both Joy and Luc are legally blind students.

UCM Board appoints interim executive director

The Board of Directors of United Community Ministries has named Katherine Morrison as interim executive director to replace Shirley Marshall, who is leaving the agency. The appointment is effective July 1.

Ater 15 years as president and CEO of The Campagna Center in Alexandria, Morrison established Morrison Nonprofit Transitions. She earned a bachelor’s in psychology at Duke University and a master’s in public administration at George Washington University. She is a graduate of Leadership Washington, Class of 2005.

The UCM Board has initiated the search for a permanent executive director. Morrison will serve until that person is hired later this year.

Grants available

The Giving Circle of HOPE, which helps people in need in Northern Virginia by awarding grants and conducting service programs, has opened its 2014 grant cycle. Grants up to $7,000 will be awarded to local nonprofit organizations through a competitive screening process.

Grant applications are due Aug. 15 and may be accessed at or requested by e-mail at Since its inception the Giving Circle of HOPE has given more than $755,000 to organizations in Northern Virginia.

Make time to volunteer

The Shepherd’s Center of Oakton-Vienna needs volunteer drivers to take area seniors to medical appointments and other activities. Opportunities to volunteer for other services are also available. Hours are flexible. Visit, call the volunteer coordinator at 703-281-5086 or email