Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Hayfield Secondary principal to retire for medical reasons

Hayfield Secondary School principal Dave Tremaine is retiring, school officials announced in a letter to parents Tuesday.

Assistant superintendent Deborah Tyler said in the letter to the school’s families that Tremaine is leaving Hayfield for unspecified medical reasons. Tyler wrote that Tremaine has been “battling a medical condition for some time now while balancing the rigorous demands of principal.”

Tremaine has served as principal of the Alexandria school since 2010, and has worked in Fairfax County schools for more than 24 years.

Tracey Phillips, Hayfield’s associate principal, will serve as the interim principal while a new permanent principal is chosen, Tyler wrote.

Fire intentionally set at Robinson Secondary

Fairfax County fire officials are investigating a fire intentionally lit at Robinson Secondary School on Tuesday.

Firefighters responded to the fire at the Fairfax school at 7:40 a.m. Tuesday. They quickly extinguished the fire, which was located in a second floor boys’ restroom.

Robinson Secondary was evacuated for less than an hour due to the fire, officials said. No one was injured. Damage is estimated at $1,000.

Eight FCPS students win college-sponsored National Merit scholarships

Eight seniors from Fairfax County public high schools have been named winners of college-sponsored National Merit scholarships.

These awards, announced Wednesday by the National Merit Scholarship Corp., provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the sponsoring school. The eight FCPS students are part of a group of about 2,500 students across the country to receive such scholarships.

Another group of 31 FCPS students were awarded $2,500 one-time scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Students are selected first based on PSAT scores, as students who score in the top 1 percent on the test in each state are named National Merit Semifinalists. Students in that pool are then evaluated based on academic record, leadership activities and more, and about 15,000 students nationwide qualify as National Merit Finalists and are eligible for the scholarships.

- Langley High School - Benjamin Espey (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

- Madison High School - Timothy Sheridan (University of Oklahoma)

- McLean High School - Samuel Clayton (Brigham Young University)

- Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology - Ashwin Basana (Northwestern University), Eric Levonian (University of Southern California), Christine Nguyen (University of Central Florida), Andrew Pan (University of Alabama), Tyler Shepherd (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

Falls Church Academy receives ambulance from county fire department

The fire and emergency services program at Falls Church Academy is receiving an ambulance donated by the Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department.

The 2003 Freightliner ambulance, now that it is retired from active duty, will allow students at the career academy to practice their skills in a real-world environment. Right now 49 students are enrolled in the program, the only one of its kind in the county.

After the vehicle was donated by the fire department, the Foundation for Applied Technical Education, which supports career and technical programs at county schools, contributed $7,500 to outfit the ambulance with additional equipment to enhance training and educational opportunities for students.