Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Volunteer Fairfax shines a light on community’s superheroes

Volunteer Fairfax, along with the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors, honored real-life superheroes at the 22nd Annual Fairfax County Volunteer Service Awards. The gala celebration, “Ordinary People, Extraordinary Impact,” took place at The Waterford in Springfield on April 25.

The awards recognize citizens who, like the comic book legends, are dedicated to making the local community better. This year 164 nominees were honored, with more than 400 community, business and nonprofit leaders in attendance.

“Our community superheroes may not wear capes or fly, but what they do, often in a quiet and humble fashion, is nonetheless just as legendary,” said Jeanne Sanders, executive director of Volunteer Fairfax. “We value the opportunity to unmask these do-ers of good deeds and salute them at the 2014 Fairfax County Volunteer Service Awards.”

Volunteers were nominated in three categories: a competitive Volunteer Service Award; a Community Champion award; and a noncompetitive Benchmark award.

The following 15 individuals and groups won a Fairfax County Volunteer Service Award in the competitive categories.

Adult Volunteer under 250 hours: Patti Schule of Herndon, volunteer for the North County Hypothermia Prevention Program, Cornerstones, Embry Rucker Shelter and Hutchison Elementary School’s English tutoring program.

Adult Volunteer over 250 hours: Ashleigh Soloff of Chantilly, auxiliary police officer and administrative volunteer for the Fairfax County Sully District Police Station.

Adult Volunteer Group: Friends of Richard Byrd Library in Springfield, for its collaboration with the Einstein Fellows to create the Explorers program for Title 1 schools.

Senior Volunteer: Doris Crawford of Burke, volunteer with the American Red Cross in the National Capital Region and member of the Fairfax County Disaster Action Team, Community Outreach Team and Community Disaster Educators.

Volunteer Program: Food for Others, for its Power Pack Program, which provides elementary school-age children with food to supplement their weekend food supply.

Youth Volunteer: Jonah Basl of Fairfax, junior assistant scoutmaster for Boy Scout Troop 1525, chartered to St. Matthew’s United Methodist Church in Annandale.

Youth Volunteer Group: National Charity League – Cherry Blossom Chapter in Oakton, which works with Northern Virginia Family Service.

Family Volunteer: Anna and Kat Hayes of Fairfax, volunteers with the Northern Virginia Therapeutic Riding Program.

Intégrate Individual: Roberto Quinones of McLean, creator of the DC Hispanic Employee Network online community.

Intégrate Group: St. Stephen’s United Methodist Church in Burke, for the three bilingual women who volunteer at Grace Ministries.

Fairfax County Volunteer: John Baue of Burke, volunteer in police service, West Springfield District Station of the Fairfax County Police Department, and representative for the Crime Prevention Unit.

Fairfax County Volunteer Program: Ready to Read Volunteer Program, for its early literacy story times directed to preschool children in childcare centers and Head Start classrooms.

Corporate Volunteer Program: BB&T, for its Lighthouse Project, which partners with two of Shelter House’s shelters.

RSVP Northern Virginia Award: Sharon Page of Herndon, volunteer at Hogar Immigrant Services, who works with the English for Speakers of Other Languages program at St. Joseph’s Catholic Church in Herndon.

Rising Star: Nicholas Hartigan of Reston, founder of Reston Young Professionals, an organization that provides opportunities for community service, networking and leadership.

Lifetime Achievement: Ramona Watson Morrow, volunteer for Fairfax County Public Schools for 24 years, former president of the Fairfax County Council of PTA’s, former chair of the Superintendent’s Business and Community Advisory Council, and former member of the Career and Technical Education Advisory Council Advisory Board.

Each member of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors nominated an individual or group to be named a Community Champion, for outstanding community leadership.

• Braddock: Cheryl McDonald, Master Gardener and Virginia certified horticulturist, for her work as president of the Danbury Forest Community Association and volunteer with Friends of Accotink Creek.

• Dranesville: Margaret Malone, for her leadership of the Salona Park Task Force, to preserve a historic property at the heart of McLean.

• Hunter Mill: Kacey Hirschfield, Hanna Becker and Olivia Wilde, for creating Amy’s Amigos, a club dedicated to community service and fundraising for brain cancer research, in memory of their friend Amy Boyle.

• Lee: Bill Shuttleworth, for his volunteer work and advocacy for youth sports.

• Mason: Mary Patricia Daniels, for her leadership as a member of the The Lifelong Learning Institute.

• Mount Vernon: Louise Cleveland, for her advocacy for the mentally and physically ill.

• Providence: Oakton Virginia Stake, for drawing upon volunteers and voluntary contributions from its nine congregations to provide community services to people in Fairfax County.

• Springfield: Jim Kirkpatrick, for planning and executing events and drives for the Rotary Club of West Springfield.

• Sully: Amrit Daryanani, for her dedication to the Fairfax County Animal Shelter, her work as a member of the Fairfax County Animal Services Commission Board and for initiating a Resiliency Program to introduce disadvantaged children to animals.

• At-Large: Scott Wheatley, for his work as the supervising, ecclesiastical authority for the Washington, D.C., Bishop’s Storehouse, which distributes commodities to food banks and shelters.

Established in 1993, the Fairfax County Volunteer Service Awards serve as a communitywide celebration of volunteerism. For almost 40 years, Volunteer Fairfax has brought together families, neighbors and colleagues to improve the Washington Capital Region. For more, visit

Business briefs

Michael Cleary, vice president of construction at Stanley Martin Homes in Chantilly, is the 2014 recipient of the HAND Housing Achievement Awards – Virginia Peters Non-Profit Friend Award. The award recognizes an individual or group of individuals who provide outstanding support or service to a nonprofit housing or service organization.

Louise Ragsdale Foreman has received the Carolyn Helman Lichtenberg Crest Award from Pi Beta Phi Fraternity for Women in honor of her professional achievements. Foreman is past executive vice president of Human Resources at Navy Federal Credit Union in Vienna.

Tim Fricker, owner of Bikes@Vienna, 128 Church St. NW, has been selected for the first annual Vienna Green Business Recognition Award. The honor acknowledges local businesses and nonprofits that have adopted sustainable and environmentally friendly business practices.

Carolyn Lugbill, president of Going Global Matters, has been named a partner at Shiftpoints Inc., a strategy consulting firm in Tysons Corner.

The American Association of Tissue Banks of McLean has named Jamien Payne as director of Membership and Marketing. Payne has 10 years of experience in association marketing, IT/database management and member relations.

Judy Redpath, founder of VISTA Wealth Strategies, has received the Women’s Choice Award for Financial Advisors. The Women’s Choice Award is the only recognition program for well-qualified advisers who are committed to the women’s market and serving their female clients. VISTA Wealth Strategies is a holistic, independent, fee-based wealth management firm in Reston.