Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Audrey Rinehart, a 17-year-old from Vienna, is rehearsing to sing “Don’t Rain on My Parade” from the musical “Funny Girl” at the sixth-annual DC-CAPital Stars: A Tribute to Broadway, a talent and scholarship contest at the Kennedy Center. Students from Washington, D.C., public and charter high schools will compete at the Feb. 25 event for college scholarships and a grand prize of $10,000.

Rinehart has been part of this event four years running and is the only student who has made the cut four times. She was the first freshman ever to make the top 10, was a semifinalist as a sophomore and junior, and now as a senior, is back in the top 10.

During eighth grade, Rinehart decided she wanted to pursue a career as a singer. She set her sights on attending the Duke Ellington School of the Arts in Washington, which she entered as a freshman.

Rinehart says she feels “extremely lucky” to have a passion like singing, and that she appreciates “the amazing opportunity” she has had to attend the Duke Ellington School.

“When I found out that I had been accepted, it took very little time for me to realize that if I wanted to make music a big part of my life, I would have to take a chance and step up to a new level of focus,” she said. “I am glad I took that chance.”

Rinehart has performed at The White House and Arena Stage and in master classes with actresses Judy Kuhn and Sutton Foster. Rinehart also has appeared in shows with Act II @ Levine in Maryland under the direction of Kevin Kuchar, playing Joanne in “RENT” and LuLake in “Parade.”

A panel of celebrities – including three Tony winners and a three-time Grammy winner – will judge the 2014 DC-CAPital Stars competition.

This year’s contest started with an open audition in September 2013. In December the public voted online for finalists, and ultimately the top 10 were picked to perform at the Kennedy Center.

Rinehart says she looks forward to pursuing a degree in music theater at college. She has been accepted at James Madison University and is waiting to hear from DePaul and New York universities.

“Every day I make sure to keep my eyes open,” she said. “You never know when great opportunities will sneak up from behind you, grab you and pull you into something amazing.”

Nonprofit DC-CAP helps make college a reality for students attending D.C. public and charter high schools. For more, visit

Herndon arts center announces photo finalists

Professional photographer D.B. Stovall, juror in the 2014 Fine Art Photography Competition sponsored by ArtSpace Herndon, has selected 50 images from 37 finalists to display in this year’s fine art photography exhibit from March 4 through April 6.

The finalists are Leda Black, Candi Campbell, Sally Canzoneri, Claire Carroll, Howard Clark, Maureen Costantino, Pete Daley, Larry Dean, Patricia Deege, L. Anne Emerson, William Faeth, Charles Fletcher, Peter Foiles, Sandy Gherardi, Gary Hess, Jo Levine, Benita Mayo, Cam Miller, Jeffrey Miller, Catherine Powers, Dora Ramirez, Rhett Rebold, Andrew Rhodes, Mark Roth, Gerard Rugel, Stephen Scardamalia, Jim Schlett, David Segal, Marshal Skinner, Patricia Smith, Carla Steckley, Debby Taylor, James Torrenzano, Peter Toth, Jenn Verrier, Richard Paul Weiblinger and Beamie Young.

More than 350 entries were submitted by 87 photographers. Stovall will announce the winners of the competition during an opening reception and awards ceremony March 8. The first-, second- and third-place winners will receive cash awards.

Stovall’s work has been shown in more than 100 juried shows all over the United States. He has also had several solo exhibitions, the latest in November 2013 at the Hillyer Gallery in Washington, D.C. A D.C. native, Stovall bought his first camera at age 10 — a Rosko purchased for 88 cents at Murphy’s Five and Dime. Today he uses a large-format view camera to create color images in realism-based vision using modern computer and printer technology.

Exhibitions and receptions at ArtSpace Herndon, at 750 Center St., are free and open to the public. Visit for gallery hours and exhibition and events schedules.

Governor names five to state positions

Before leaving office, Gov. Bob McDonnell (R) appointed these local residents to state boards and commissions.

Aerospace Advisory Council: H. Hollister Cantus of McLean, chairman and chief executive officer of The ILEX Group.

Board of Veterans Services: Retired Brig. Gen. Belinda Pinckney of Fairfax, president and chief executive officer of BHP Consulting LLC.

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board: Matthew McQueen of Alexandria, sector director for Strategic and External Communications at Northrop Grumman Corp.

Virginia Economic Development Partnership: C. Daniel Clemente of Alexandria, chairman and chief executive officer of Clemente Development Co. Inc.

Virginia Tourism Authority Board of Directors: Ellen Field of McLean, owner of a public relations and communications firm.

College credits

These students have been named to the fall/winter 2013 dean’s lists at their respective colleges and universities.

Duke University, Durham, N.C.: Anna Lombardo of Great Falls.

Radford University: John Burke, Stephen Lackney, Eryn Devis, Yanina Merida, Joseph Rainey and Rachel Smith, all of Annandale;

Sana Alloo, Patrick Donlay, Nicholas Dougherty, Nancy Herbert, Noella Kim, Jessica Layne, Barbara Medrano, Mia Spain, Julianne Thompson, Martin Walsh, Kendall Carlson, Nicole Chillemi, Julia Corey, Jennifer Cox, Kathryn Hartzell, Lauren Hicks, Breana Hobbs, Courtney Huling, Donovan Kays, Joshua Kidwell, Andrew Little, Michael Lockard, Emily Mayer, Hayley McDonnell, Brooke Peterson, Gabriella Swientisky, Matt Wolford, Michael Wright, Michael Butchlo and Caitlyn Lewis, all of Centreville;

John Koehler, Arash Mazloum, Mwila Polomondo, John Lingenfelter, Christina Marcone, Dana Pratt, Francis Prior, Kara Rhodes, Amelia Serban, Lindsey Snedeker and Rebecca Teti, all of Chantilly;

Thomas Boucher, Kimberly Brown, Jennifer Brown, Andrew Capitano, Robert Connors, Stuart Converse, Emily Cooper, Abigail Demers, Melissa Flis, Anna Jivotovski, Katelyn Priftis, Robert VanCourt, Joseph Dobyns, Gabe Dominguez, Lauren Edmondson, Michael Feld, Daniel Frank, Christopher Graff, Richard Heilman, Meghan Judge, Christina Kelly, Sean Larsen, Lindsay McLarty, Sean Miller, Slaone Naughton, Anna Phiri, Shelby Pihl, Jasmine Sampson, Davis Spurlin, Krista Stahl, Katherine Tingley, Nicole Trapeni, Lindsey Wagner and Brielle Warner, all of Fairfax.

University of New Haven, West Haven, Conn.: Valeria Diaz of Centreville and Jessica Bouchet of Oakton.

University of Rhode Island, Kingston: Abby Hassler of Great Falls, and Olivia Orr and Christopher Zimmerman, both of Vienna.

Scholarships available

The Community Foundation of Northern Virginia in Oakton offers multiple scholarships, and awards more than $200,000 each year to help nearly 80 local students attend the college of their choice. Each scholarship has different selection criteria, allowing opportunities for a diverse range of students. Application deadlines vary by scholarship, from March 15 to May 30.

For more, visit