Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

Three young Fairfax artists place in Congressional Art Competition

More than 200 high school students, parents and teachers gathered at the Workhouse Arts Center in mid-April to hear Congressman Gerry Connolly (D) and judges from across Virginia’s 11th Congressional District announce the winners of Connolly’s annual Congressional Art Competition.

Olivia Jones, a student at South County High School, was awarded first place for her artwork, “Fracture.” Jones’ work will hang in the U.S. Capitol this summer along with the works of other first-place winners from congressional districts across the country.

Also winning from Fairfax County were Christopher Aponte of Robinson Secondary School, who took third place for his piece, “My Abstract Dreams,” and Jacqueline Yofi Edwards of the New School of Northern Virginia in Fairfax, who won fifth place for her work, “Control.”

The Workhouse Arts Center will display the 144 pieces of art entered in the competition through May 26 in the McGuire Woods Gallery. In all, 111 students representing 23 public and private high schools in Fairfax and Prince William submitted works.

“The record number of entries in this year’s competition reflects the high level of interest in the fine arts among Northern Virginia students and the dedication of our arts teachers and patrons to encouraging artistic skills in our high schools,” Connolly said.

“This exhibition is important to the Workhouse, as it gives us an opportunity to showcase the rising artistic talent in our community,” Lorton Arts Foundation Chairman of the Board Richard Hausler said.

Judging was conducted by Brett John Johnson of the Workhouse Arts Center, Rebecca Kamen of the Arts Council of Fairfax County, Patricia Macintyre of the Council for the Arts of Herndon, Hollis Coons McCullough of the Greater Reston Arts Center and Emily Hawes of the Prince William Art Society,

The Workhouse Arts Center is at 9601 Ox Road in Lorton. Visit

American Legion fetes Vienna police officer

The American Legion Post 180 in Vienna conducted its annual ceremony and banquet this month to honor Private First Class Ryan Myers, who has been named the 2013 Town of Vienna Police Officer of the Year.

Myers is a five-year veteran of the Vienna Police Department. He also serves as a field training officer and a Rape Aggression Defense instructor. In nominating Myers for the award, Sgt. Pam Juelharte said Myers has been No. 1 in total arrests through his aggressive patrol and self-initiated policing.

Military salutes

• Army Cadet John Rice has received the George C. Marshall Award during a ceremony at the Marshall Center at the Virginia Military Institute in Lexington. The award, named in the honor of Gen. Marshall, is presented annually to the most outstanding senior Army ROTC (Reserve Officer Training Corps) cadets in military science studies and leadership values in each battalion at host universities or colleges.

This national award is the highest award an ROTC cadet can receive.

Rice, son of Julia Rice of Alexandria and William Thomas Rice of Annapolis, Md., graduated in 2009 from West Potomac High School. He is a student at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tenn.

Michael Sherburne, son of Douglas and Christina Sherburne of Burke, has been awarded an Air Force ROTC scholarship to attend college. High school seniors from across the country are selected after a competitive application process.

Upon graduating from college and completing the ROTC program, Sherburne will be commissioned as a second lieutenant in the Air Force.

• Air Force Airman 1st Class Kauri George has graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio, Texas. George, daughter of Steve and CeeCee Evans of Centreville, is a 2011 graduate of Westfield High School.

• Air Force Airman 1st Class Solyip Kim, Air Force Airmen Carlos Diaz, Sandra Byers and Paul Harris, and Air National Guard Airmen 1st Class Michael Geyer and Ronny Garcia have graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland in San Antonio, Texas.

Kim, daughter of Hyun Sook Park and Jin Sik Kim, both of Springfield, is a 2009 graduate of West Springfield High School. She earned an associate degree in 2012 from Northern Virginia Community College, Annandale.

Diaz is the son of Marixa Soriano of Alexandria and Alexander Diaz of Oxon Hill, Md.

Byers, daughter of Susan Byers of Springfield, earned distinction as an honor graduate.

Harris, son of Ruth Harris of Fairfax, is a 2012 graduate of Chantilly High School.

Geyer, son of Rhonda and Charles Geyer Jr. of Fairfax Station, is a 2004 graduate of West Springfield High School.

Garcia is the son of Ronny Garcia of Alexandria.

• Army Reserve Pfc. Stephen Ramos and Army 2nd Lt. Michael Kohn have graduated from basic infantry training at Fort Benning in Columbus, Ga.

Ramos, son of Anthony and Janet Ramos of Fairfax, is a 2011 graduate of Robinson Secondary School.

Kohn, son of Henry and Barbara Kohn of Myrtle Beach, S.C., is a 1990 graduate of Chantilly High School. He earned a bachelor’s degree in 1997 from George Mason University.

• Army Reserve Pvt. Liam Artair, Army National Guard Pfc. Teresa Vaughn-Patterson, and Army Pvts. Kie Hwan Park and Francis Rizzuti have graduated from basic combat training at Fort Jackson in Columbia, S.C.

Artair is a 2000 graduate of George C. Marshall High School.

Vaughn-Patterson, daughter of Allen Ware of Annandale, earned an associate degree in 2011 from Palm Beach State College, Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

Park, son of Sang Sup and Hyun Sook Park of Centreville, is a 2011 graduate of Westfield High School.

Rizzuti is the son of Frank Rizzuti of Springfield and Lisa Rizzuti-Leone of New Hartford, N.Y.

Scholarship opportunity

The Herndon Fortnightly Club is offering one-year scholarships to individuals living in the greater Herndon area. Past recipients are not eligible.

Candidates must be accepted for entrance or enrolled in an educational institution. Qualifying coursework includes undergraduate college level, post-graduate, continuing education and coursework required for re-entering the workforce.

Candidates should write a one-page letter, without attachments, explaining why the scholarship is needed, what career goals are being pursued and to which academic institution the candidate has been accepted. Also include comments about activities, community service and academic standing.

Mail the letter with name, address and phone number to Scholarships, c/o The Herndon Fortnightly Club, P.O. Box 55, Herndon, VA 20172-0055. Deadline is May 24.