Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Leave a Comment
Print this Article

The Vienna Parks and Recreation Department has announced the winners of its 2013 amateur photography contest, which took place March 16 and 17 at the Vienna Community Center. In all, 70 photographers submitted 250 entries.

Mark Roth received the Best in Show award, and Brian Mitchell won the People’s Choice award. Here are the winners in each of the eight categories.


Adults: Chuck Campbell (first); Al Giraldi (second); Kathrin Swoboda (third); Harold Bonacquist, David Huber and Dennis Govoni (honorable mentions).

Students: Kristina Seewald, McLean High School (first); Suzannah Trainer, Paul VI High School (second); Isabel Roscoe, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (third); Margaret McConville, Our Lady of Good Counsel (honorable mention).


Adults: Brian Cassidy (first); Ken Brennan (second); Roger Lancaster (third); David Heagy, Jonathan Carr and Mark Roth (honorable mentions).

Students: Natalie Kelm, James Madison High School (first); Rachel Albrecht, Falls Church High School (second); Nick Needham, South County High School (third); Anna Kohlbrenner, Marshall High School (honorable mention).


Adults: Joan Axilbund (first); Harold Bonacquist (second); Carol Carroll (third); Don Allen (honorable mention).

Students: Miranda Bricker, James Madison High School (first); Maddie Dong, Harper Park Middle School (second); Ariana Garcia-DuBar, James Madison High School (third); Emily Barrett, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (honorable mention).


Adults: Dennis Govoni (first); Julie Cochran (second); Don Allen (third); Mary Jane Fish and Joan Axilbund (honorable mentions).

Students: Kristina Seewald, McLean (first); Alea Kohlbrenner, Marshall High School (second); Madeline Roodberg, Flint Hill School (third); Miranda Bricker, James Madison; Rachel Albrecht, Falls Church; and Margaret McConville, Our Lady of Good Counsel (honorable mentions).


Adults: Lisa LeGrow (first); Mark Roth (second); Woody Woodis (third); Anne Pastarkovich, Karen Lykke and Brian Mitchell (honorable mentions).

Students: Madeline Roodberg, Flint Hill (first); Alea Kohlbrenner, Marshall (second); Lisa Fay, James Madison High School (third).


Adults: Mark Roth (first); Lisa LeGrow (second); John Sichenze (third); Roger Lancaster, Joan Axilbund and Dennis Govoni (honorable mentions).

Students: Maddie Dong, Harper Park (first); Emily Barrett, Thomas Jefferson (second); Anna Kohlbrenner, Marshall (third); Chloe Morton, Oakton High School (honorable mention).


Adults: Harold Bonacquist (first); Eric Everhart (second); Brittani Getch (third); Roger Lancaster, Lester Wyatt and Harold Bonacquist (honorable mentions).

Students: Emily Barrett, Thomas Jefferson (first); Anna Kohlbrenner, Marshall (second); Alea Kohlbrenner, Marshall (third); Nick Needham, South County (honorable mention).


Adults: Michael Cassidy (first); Mark Roth (second); Roger Lancaster (third); Caroline Stevens, Lisa LeGrow and Raymond Bogusz (honorable mention).

Student: Nick Needham, South County (first); Benjamin Zelkin, George C. Marshall High School (second); Madeline Roodberg, Flint Hill (third); Kristina Seewald, McLean (honorable mention).

Wayne Wolfersberger and Erwin Siegal of the Northern Virginia Photographic Society judged the show. The Vienna Photographic Society assisted the Vienna Parks and Recreation Department.

Oakton church chooses new minister

The Rev. Russell D. Heiland Jr., newly appointed senior minister at Unity of Fairfax, is set to help lead the April 6 closing ceremony for the church’s Season for Nonviolence.

The 16th Annual Gandhi-King Season for Nonviolence is an international event that honors the visions of Mahatma Gandhi and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. for an empowered, nonviolent world.

Heiland was selected as senior minister for “his dynamic, energetic presence, his ability to embody spirituality and a constant flow of great ideas,” according to the Oakton church’s Board of Trustees

Heiland, who is enthusiastic about youth, family and campus ministries, said he finds young-adult ministry to be especially rewarding. “Meaningful integration of all age groups within a community can be done to the mutual benefit of all,” he said.

Heiland was the associate minister at First Unity of St. Petersburg in Florida from 2009 to 2012. Earlier, he served seven years at Unity Christ Church of Wilmington in North Carolina.

An ordained Unity minister, Heiland received his professional training from Unity Worldwide Ministries. He has a bachelor’s degree from Miami University in Ohio and a master’s degree from the University of North Carolina, Wilmington.

For more about the closing ceremony, “A Celebration of Dreams and Expressions of Peace,” visit

Authors celebrate literacy at Clearview

Clearview Elementary School in Herndon celebrated National March into Literacy Month by presenting children’s books authors Jacqueline Jules and Sara Lewis Holmes.

Jules, author of the “Zapato Power” series and “No English,” a 2012 Forward National First Place Award winner, visited with students in kindergarten through third grade. She gave a tailored presentation to each grade level, answered questions and autographed books.

Holmes spent a day the next week with the older students in grades four through six. Author of the 2012-13 Virginia Readers’ Choice selection “Operation Yes,” Holmes taught children about the power of saying “yes” to their writing, to each other and to life.

Rosemary Buley, a Clearview parent who runs the after-school writing club, said she believes exposing young children to authors has a positive effect on literacy.

“It’s powerful for our children to meet real authors and to learn that proofreading and editing are integral parts of the writing process,” Buley said.

Wolftrap students strong at OM tournament

Teams from Wolftrap Elementary School competed successfully at the NoVa North Odyssey of the Mind Region 9 Tournament, which took place March 9 at Oakton High School.

Wolftrap’s Division I Team competing for Problem No. 1, “Pet Project,” placed first and now advances to the state tournament April 13 in Aldie. Rachelle Stefanik and Tracy McHone coach the team, which includes fifth-graders Kiran Gowda, Andrew Margiotta, Wendy McHone, Ruhi Mehta, Michael Shi, Katarina Stefanik and Lauen Van Stone.

The school’s Division II team competing for Problem No. 3, “ARTchitecture: The Musical,” received the third-place award. This is the first time the team – Alexander Stephens, Alicia Pané, Carina Anderson, Elena Ergerner, Lauren Carl, Leigh El-Hindi and William Wilson — competed in Division II against sixth-, seventh- and eighth-graders from across the county. Coaches are Anna Pané and Leslie Carl.

Odyssey of the Mind is a creative problem-solving program that involves students from kindergarten through college. Team members apply their critical-thinking, team-building and problem-solving skills to produce an original performance or presentation.