2012 All-Gazette baseball team -- Gazette.Net


Player of the Year

Taylor Bloom

Riverdale Baptist, Soph., P-INF

The super sophomore compiled an 11-0 record and 0.87 ERA in 72 1/3 innings on the mound as well as hit .408 with 54 RBI and 13 doubles for 35-win squad.

Coach of the Year

Bob EstesBowie, 8th year

A long-time county coach, Estes guided the Bulldogs to the 4A South Region championship, besting an Eleanor Roosevelt team it lost twice to earlier this season in what was his final season.

First teamBrady Barr

Bowie, Sr. 1BLone public school season produced .672 average, 10 home runs, 52 RBI and 35 runs.

Chris BateEleanor Roosevelt, Sr., SS

Slick fielder produced .446 average, 24 runs, 28 RBI and 11 extra-base hits for 4A League champions.

Matt BielerBowie, Sr. C

Strong-armed catcher could also swing a potent bat with .500-plus average, 2 homers and 35 RBI.

Bobby BrowningEleanor Roosevelt, Sr., P

Defeated Bowie twice and finished with 8-2 record and a 2.18 ERA as team's ace hurler.

Matt DeFrankSt. Vincent Pallotti, Sr., INF-P

Batted .410 with 32 runs, 19 RBI; went 2-0 with 2.84 ERA on mound.

Lovell EstepGwynn Park, Sr., INF-P

Virginia State signee compiled 7 wins on the mound and batted .461.

Leandro GuzmanHigh Point, Sr., 3B-P

Scorched opponents for .627 average, 10 home runs and had 76 strikeouts on the mound.

Jack HopkinsBishop McNamara, Sr., OF

Guided Mustangs to WCAC final, batted .429, homered three times.

Matt McPhearsonRiverdale Baptist, Jr., OF

Swiped a mind-boggling 67 bases with .340 average and 48 runs.

Second team

Trevor AllenEleanor Roosevelt, Jr., OF

Chase BrewisRiverdale Baptist, Jr., INF-P

Dylan CrossedBowie, Sr., P

Corey DirksSt. Vincent Pallotti, Sr., C-P

Tavist MuldrowGwynn Park, Sr., SS

Trevor KeeneFriendly, Sr., 1B-P

Justin MorrisDeMatha Catholic, Soph., C

Connor OliverDeMatha, Sr., INF-OF

Taylor StilesBishop McNamara, Jr., P-1B

Sterling SwannHenry A. Wise, Sr., 1B

Honorable mention

Connor Hax, Bishop McNamara; Russell Villalobos, DuVal; Albert Taylor, Crossland; Sherman Washington, Gwynn Park; Raffi Correa, St. Vincent Pallotti; Matt Wildrick, Riverdale Baptist; Denzell Blanks, Frederick Douglass; Jabdell Middletown, Surrattsville; Dionzae Foote, Potomac; Christopher Stone, Friendly; Isaiah Lopez, Eleanor Roosevelt; Orlando Mullins, Charles H. Flowers.