MCPS students win National Achievement Scholarships -- Gazette.Net


Thirteen high school seniors from Montgomery County Public Schools have been selected as 2012 National Achievement Scholarship winners by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

The 13 winners from the school system comprise almost one-third of the 43 winners selected from Maryland. Approximately 800 winners were chosen from across the nation out of more than 160,000 applicants

The scholarship competition recognizes outstanding academic achievement of African American high school seniors across the United States.

Winners are awarded $2,500 scholarships, which are financed by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation and grants from corporate organizations and professional associations.

The county winners and their high schools are:

Erica E. Turner and Nailah U. Harper-Malveaux, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School; Mopewa Ogundipe, Clarksburg High School; Sydney A. Butler, Col. Zadok Magruder High School in Derwood; Jordyn R. Chesley, Gaithersburg High School; Dana K. Robertson, Northwest High School in Germantown; Ryan A. Anderson, Paint Branch High School in Burtonsville; Mariyam Oniyeche Sheidu and Tishina D. Tittley, Poolesville High School; Brittany M. Lambert, Springbrook High School in Silver Spring; Modibo Khane Camara, Walter Johnson High School in Bethesda; and Christine N. Hildreth and Maliza W. Namude, Winston Churchill High School in Potomac.

More information about the National Achievement Scholarship Program is available at